Fire Rainbow

I had completely forgotten about seeing this until I was scanning through some of my photo’s tonight.   About three years ago I was at a convention in Savannah and was killing time surfing the net in between sessions.  I’m not exactly sure how I got around to reading about circumhorizontal arcs (fire rainbows).  Sometimes my internet surfing is like stream of conscious writing, especially since I have ADD and I have no idea what so ever got me around to that, but regardless, I found it interesting and was reading away.

Fire rainbows are the rarest optical phenomenon (or halo) that occur when sunlight is refracted through ice crystals in cirrus clouds.  The rainbow appears within the cloud giving it a firey/feather appearance.  The day after my impromptu education on circumhorizontal arcs I happened to see this on the drive home.  Now, I’m not too sure how rare they are seen in this area I know that there are only a certain number of hours per year that they sun reaches the necessary angle in the sky (usually in the summer I think) but regardless, I saw one in September 2007 on the way home from Savannah.  I just found it neat that I had just read about them the day before.

This fire rainbow is by no means as large or impressive as some of the other photo’s I’ve seen, but its pretty neat anyway.  Its my fire rainbow.  To me it was just a reminder of how everything that happens to us in life has a purpose.  We don’t always have to know the reasons or answers at the time that things happen.  But, I find that just knowing that everything that happens to us is moving us along to where we are meant to be in life brings me peace.

Leave a Reply

