The Little Things

Isn’t it funny how little things can remind you of someone.  The other day I stopped by McDonald’s on the way home from work and ordered a hot fudge sundae.  It reminded me of my friend Jordan and how when he lived in the apartment down stairs from mine, we would make midnight McDonald’s runs or how he would just come up to my place when he needed to talk sometimes.  Anytime I see anything be-speckeld, I think of Jeff and his crazy, speckled fraternity paddle.  It was befitting of his random, spontaneous personality.  Songs remind me of friends too.  If I hear anything Weezer, I automatically think of my friend Holly.  We rocked out to Weezer’s blue album in middle and high school.  She loved Green Day too and her Dookie T-shirt.  Dave Matthews and Birkenstocks remind me of my Big Bro Rob.  Riding around in his Green Jeep, Dave Matthews playing almost constantly, his black and white fan air freshners spinning away.  Slamming on breaks or almost running red lights make me think of the Spaz (Andy).  We did that a lot which often resulted in him screaming at the top of his lungs and taking on an uncharacteristic southern accent.  I think Rachel experienced this with us a couple of times.  Walking in the rain reminds me of James and the time that he helped me search for my keys on north campus in the midst of a monsoon.  A roll of toilet paper sitting on top of the holder, makes me think of Miguel and the time he accidentally knocked the whole roll in the toilet and he and Irby had to fish it out with a coat hanger.  Cake icing makes me think of Phil and the time I smushed it all over his face.

There are so many moments and memories that I could go on forever really.  If you aren’t mentioned above don’t think that there aren’t little things that make me think of you.  I guarantee you that there is something that brings your face to mind and the warm feelings of friendship and love that I will forever have for you.  If you want to know just ask.

I say all of this to say that everyone that comes into our lives becomes a part of us.  They are always with us, no matter where we go or what we do in life.  We are forever connected regardless of whether we talk everyday, years apart, or never gain.  You all mean the world to me and I love you.

2 Responses to “The Little Things”

  1. It’s funny . . . do you realize that your “family recipe” of that bacony stuff has stuck with me all these years and I make it all the time?? That makes me think of you (and your family) every single time . . . and I remember spending the night at your MaMa’s house and it being sooo cold in the winter and having to warm up under a quilt . . . . lol. Ahhh, the little things. It is amazing how memories work! (Funny, that’s our topic of discussion in my Development Psych class this week!)

    • MMM. Bacon hot dish! The Fugitive reminds me of you and grape jelly from that time we had to do that skit in Ms. McLeod’s class and I had to eat grape jelly straight out of the jar and got so tickled. I remember riding the four wheeler in your cow pasture and cutting donuts. Lol. Good times!

      I’m having to do some refresher learning about attachment disorder right now because I am doing therapy with a family that has a child with reactive attachment disorder. Is amazing how everything really stays with us not only on a psychological level but on a cellular biological level too.

      Happy belated Birthday by the way! I’ll be there with you at 30 shortly!

Leave a Reply

