Animal House

Currently, there are 4 dogs and 3 cats (not to mention 3 humans) living in my house.  At times it is quite insane, but for the most part things generally go pretty smoothly.  I recently moved back in with my parents and their 2 dogs, due to my house entering foreclosure, and brought with me my brood of 5 fuzzy, four-legged children.  I don’t know that I ever intended to have 5 pets (all spayed and neutered).   I most certainly had no intention of having 3 cats.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love kitties.  I’ve just always seen myself as a definite “dog person.”  I’d like to think that my feline babies came into my life to help me realize that I’m not just a dog or cat person.  I’m an animal person.

I’ve often heard that we don’t choose our pets, they choose us.  I couldn’t agree more.  Of the 5 animals I have, only one of them was actually sought for.  The rest have come to be with me by chance (or fate or divine intervention…however you see it).  I believe that animals come into our lives for a purpose, just as people do.  I love that each of them has their own quirky personality.  Here is our current cast of four-legged characters:

Sunny

Sunny is my heart.  She is a sweet beagle (and who knows what else) mix that I adopted from the Athens-Clarke County Animal Shelter when she was approximately 5 weeks old (She’s 4.5 years old now). She is a very smart and funny girl who is convinced that the broom is an animate object.

Prince (aka Peet)

Peet is my snuggle bug.  He is a yappy, chihuahua mix that thinks he is a bull mastiff. I got him from a friend who rescued him from the side of the road in July of 2008 (he was about 4 months old).  I’ve had him for about 2 years now.

Buddy

Buddy is my wittle bwudda.  He’s a rough and tumble Boston Terrier.  Momma and Daddy got him from a friend that needed a good home for him and have had him for about 3 years.  He’s his daddy’s boy (and snores like him too).

Kelsie

Kelsie is my sweet heart.  She’s as much my dog as she is my momma and daddy’s.  Kelsie thinks that she’s everybody’s momma. She is a beautiful Shepherd mix.  She showed up as a stray at the house during my Freshman year of college.  She is at least 11 years old.

Roo

Roo is my independent girl.  She was born on my bedroom floor on October 22, 2007.  She is a tortie point Siamese Mix and kind of looks like she’s been playing in white paint. She comes to me when I sing to her.

Welfare

Welfare (he came with that name) is my vocal boy.  He came with my house (or former house rather) when I bought it in 2007.  He is at least 4 years old, but could be older than 13.  He is a very sweet boy that never hesitates to tell me when he wants something.

Creepy (aka Bill)

Creepy (recently dubbed Bill by my daddy) is my diamond in the rough.  I started taking care of him in February of 2009 when he showed up at my house in serious need of medical attention.  A brawler in his tomcat days (he has the scars to show for it), Bill has turned into quite the easy going fella since he has parted ways with “the boys.”

Creepy is the newest addition to the family.  Initially I had no intention of keeping him an had planned to take him to the animal shelter until I learned that he has FIV.  Had I taken him to the shelter (luckily they were closed the day he showed up), he would have been euthanized because of his FIV, since they struggle to find homes for the droves of healthy cats that come through their doors each year, and I don’t know that I could have dealt with that knowledge.  I would have felt directly responsible for his death.  For a while I had to play musical cats because Creepy was very territorial and would attack the other cats (FIV is spread from cat to cat through penetrating bite wounds).  After he was neutered, he calmed down some, but continued to exhibit territorial behavior towards other male cats (Welfare in particular).  Amazingly, after moving in with my parents, he and Welfare are getting along fine.  I truly feel that he was meant to be a part of our family.

Leave a Reply

